Soup Kitchen #1: Slow-cooked lamb shank soup

Hello friends!

I hope you’re having a great week. As for me, I can’t seem to shake an annoying cold, and whether she was sick of my coughing or wanted to banish my germs from the office, my lovely bossy colleague and friend Larissa sent me home from work yesterday. She sent me on my miserable way with a bottle of eucalyptus oil, a little tub of Vicks (my whole team chorused about how much they love Vicks, which I thought was strange), and strict instructions that I was to do nothing.

Do you know how hard it is to do nothing?

When I’m sick, there’s usually two things that can make me feel better: my mum, and soup. The preference is always for soup made by my mum, but as she lives four hours away, this is usually quite impossible.

So, at the risk of Larissa’s wrath, I’m going to share a recipe for a lamb shank soup that I made yesterday. There’s actually not that much involved – browning lamb shanks and chucking everything in the slow cooker (you can also make this on the stove). Very little effort, for a delicious amount of gain.

IMG_3612

Slow-cooked lamb shank soup

Serves: 4. Prep time = 10 mins, cooking time = approx 5 hours on high.

3 lamb shanks (around 900g from the butcher)

1T plain flour

1t dried oregano

Salt and pepper

1T olive oil

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 onion, finely chopped

3 small carrots, finely chopped

3 celery stalks, finely chopped

1T balsamic vinegar

1 cup dry white wine (I had some open in the fridge, and wondered afterwards why I didn’t use red. If you try this recipe with red, let me know how it turns out!)

2 cups beef stock

2 x 400g cans Annalisa diced tomatoes

1 x 400g can Annalisa four-bean mix, drained

Fresh parsley, to serve

Here’s what to do:

1. Combine oregano, flour, and salt and pepper on a plate. Coat the lamb shanks in the mixture, and shake off any excess flour

2. Heat oil in a large frypan, and then add lamb, browning well on all sides. If you’re not using a slow cooker, opt for a large, heavy bottomed saucepan.

3. Add lamb, garlic, onion, carrots, celery, balsamic vinegar, wine, stock, beans to slow cooker and set on high for approximately 5 hours.

4. If you’re using a large saucepan, reduce the heat and leave on stovetop, simmering, for 2 hours.

5. Prior to serving, remove the shanks. The meat should fall away from the bone. Shred, and add back to the soup mixture.

6. Serve with a sprinkling of fresh parsley and parmesan cheese. Inhale, and enjoy!

Recently Updated5

Side note: I’ve discovered something else that cheers me up on sick days. I may be biased, but is this not the cutest kitten in the world?

Kitty life is TOUGH.

Kitty life is TOUGH.

2 thoughts on “Soup Kitchen #1: Slow-cooked lamb shank soup

Leave a Reply

