Slow-cooked adventures: Chipotle Beef

My relationship with my slow cooker was somewhat of a slow burn. For a long time I didn’t quite trust that alien contraption (‘If I leave it on while I’m at work, won’t the apartment burn down?’ etc etc) and it sat sadly in my cupboard collecting dust.

One Sunday, about two years ago now, I tentatively reunited with my slow cooker to test out a beef casserole, checking on that beef at least 20 times over a 6 hour period!

The thing I love most about cooking in my slow cooker now is the ‘set and forget’ functionality. It literally takes a few minutes to throw your ingredients in during the morning, and the aroma that fills your house will ensure you have a good appetite, come dinner time!

I tested out chipotle chilis last year with a Chipotle Glazed Chicken, and fell in love with the smoky flavour that they impart. They really standout in this otherwise simple dish.

Ingredients 

1.4kg beef – I used a slab of beef eye fillet for this, but chuck steak would work just as well (they just didn’t have any at Harris Farm!)

1 large onion

4 cloves garlic, crushed

3 – 4 tablespoons canned chipotles in adobo sauce (more or less to taste)

2 bay leaves

Splash of beef stock, just to cover the bottom of the slow cooker

Salt and pepper

Here’s what to do

1. Throw your beef, onion, garlic, chipotles, bay leaves and salt into the slow cooker, with a splash of beef stock

2. Cook on low for 8 hours, or 4 hours on high.

PhotoGrid_13_03_2013 7_32 PM

And to serve:

Make a quick guacamole using 1 avocado, a pinch of cayenne pepper, a squeeze of lemon juice and some chopped up cherry tomatoes. Add a dollop of sour cream if you so desire.

Do you have a favourite slow cooker recipe?

One thought on “Slow-cooked adventures: Chipotle Beef

Leave a Reply

