Sweet treats: Caramel peanut slice

To celebrate my colleague Ange’s birthday on Friday, a few of my teammates and I had a little bake off. This resulted in an (un)healthy, day-long competition and worrying sugar highs all round, which was made all the funnier by the fact that Ange didn’t come in to work on the Friday after all.

The winner of the bake-off was hotly debated, with blind taste tests, independent judging panels and all. My slice went up against my friend Larissa’s (mum’s) refreshing yet rich passionfruit slice. My manager baked a decadent Nigella Lawson chocolate cake – I’ll share this recipe with you in the coming weeks.

For now though, I wish I could offer you a piece of my Caramel Peanut Slice,  but I’ll have to do the next best thing which is share the ridiculously simple recipe.

Caramel Peanut Slice 

1 cup coconut

1 cup self raising flour

1 cup brown sugar

125g melted butter + 30g butter

395g can sweetened condensed milk

2 tbs golden syrup

1/2 cup chopped nuts

150g melted chocolate

Here’s what to do: 

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees

2. Combine coconut, flour, brown sugar and butter in a  bowl. Press into the base of a square baking tin and bake for 10 minutes. Allow to cool.

3. Combined condensed milk, golden syrup and 30g butter in a saucepan, and stir continually until it starts to boil. Continue to stir for 8 minutes.

4. Spread over the caramel over the base, top with peanuts and bake for a further 10 minutes, or until lightly golden brown.

Caramel Slice 3

5. Melt the chocolate in the microwave and smother over the base.

I left mine in the fridge overnight to cool before attempting to cut it up and serve.

Image

One thought on “Sweet treats: Caramel peanut slice

  1. Pingback: Peanut butter and chocolate protein (amaze)balls | feastplaylove

Leave a Reply

