Cook this for dinner: Lamb with Eggplant and Feta

Hi readers!
I hope you’re having an amazing week. If you’re a long suffering Sydneysider like me, are you cursing the weather? Gorgeous and sunny midweek, humid and horrible weekends! If nothing else, at least it’s keeping me on my toes with outfit choices.

I’m not quite ready to say goodbye to summer. Adam experienced his first 46 degree day in January, we took refuge in our freezing offices. It’s always tough to drive away from Bondi when the sun is shining (and depressing returning in work heels when everyone else is barefoot!), but we did spend the evening in the sea, along with the rest of Bondi and their dogs!

20130306-001400.jpg

This is a classic summer midweek BBQ recipe, from the Donna Hay cookbook ‘Fresh and Light‘.

I always turn to Donna Hay when I want a recipe that uses fresh ingredients to create great flavour combinations, and one that won’t require me to spend half my evening in the kitchen cooking and cleaning up.

I used the potted herbs I keep on my balcony, two eggplants and some lovely lamb backstraps. The honey/lemon dressing was a perfect accompaniment to the lamb. I halved the 2T of oil and feta suggested by the recipe as I can’t quite justify the calories at the moment (eek..)

Lamb Fillet with Eggplant and Feta

Ingredients
550g lamb loin or backstrap
2 small eggplants
2T olive oil
2T red wine vinegar
2T herbs – whatever you have available, I used basil and oregano + 1 cup of herbs for the salad (mint and dill)
150g feta
1T lemon juice
1t honey

All you need to do is
1. Slice two eggplants lengthways
2. Mix together the red wine vinegar, oil and herbs (I used basil and oregano)
3. Brush the eggplant and lamb with your herby marinade

20130306-000257.jpg

4. BBQ or char-grill the lamb and eggplant on both sides
5. Layer the eggplant and lamb on a plate, and top with mint, dill and feta.
6. Stir together lemon juice and honey, and pour over the lamb to serve.

20130305-235932.jpg

On the table in 20 minutes (and that allows for some pottering time), with no washing up. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

