Winners, winners and duck dinners

Delicious, nutritious, super fast food in 15 minutes? Jamie Oliver, you are a mind reader! I’ve been so short of free time that I ordered his new cookbook online, and it arrived at my new home (my office) yesterday.

Tonight I attempted his ‘Crispy Duck Hoi Sin Lettuce Parcels’. Despite my ‘this is a race against time’ mentality, I didn’t quite manage to get it on the table in 15 minutes – I’d be interested to hear your experiences and cooking times!

According to the cookbook, this will serve 4.

Recipe ingredients: 

2 x 200g duck breasts, skin on (if you’re calorie counting, remove it)

350g tofu

1 long red chilli

2 spring onions

2 tbsp sesame seeds

1 tsp runny honey

1 tsp Chinese Five Spice (I added about 2.5 tsp)

4 nests fine egg noodles

1 iceberg lettuce

4 limes (if you baulk at paying $2.50 for a lime, omit these)

1 bunch radishes

1 punnet cress

5 sprigs coriander

4 tbsp hoi sin sauce

1 tbsp sesame oil

This new cookbook includes an “Ingredients out” reminder – for this recipe, you’ll need the kettle boiled, a small lidded saucepan on medium heat and a large frying pan on medium heat.

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

1. Put egg noodles into small pan and cover with boiling water

2. Cut the duck into 1cm dice, toss with salt, pepper and Chinese five spice, then toss regularly in frypan with 1 tablespoon olive oil

3. Cut lettuce in half through the stalk, remove stalk and pull out lettuce cups to arrange onto a platter

4. Drain noodles and toss with sesame oil, and divide noodles between the lettuce cups

5. Finely slice chilli and spring onions, and cut tofu into 1cm cubes.

6. Duck should now be golden. Drain excess fat, then stir in chilli, spring onions, cashews, tofu and sesame seeds. (Next time I make this recipe, I will add the hoisin dressing – see step 7 – at this stage, so it can heat through in the pan and coat the duck. I wasn’t a big fan of the dressing as it was).

7. Put hoi sin into a bowl with the juice of the limes and crushed garlic clove.

8. Drizzle duck with honey and tip evenly over lettuce cups

9. Scatter over the baby radishes, coriander and cress

10. Drizzle hoi sin dressing over everything, serve and enjoy.

I do apologise for my long silence and the fact that I’ve not yet announced the winner of the 2013 Good Food Guide competition. I popped everyone’s name on a piece of paper and I’ll get in touch with the winner “playingwithflour” via email.

What’s your favourite meal to cook up in 15 minutes?

One thought on “Winners, winners and duck dinners

  1. Looks good! You can make this for me when I visit. Fav 15min meal would have to be homemade peri-peri chicken burgers with kewpie mayo x

Leave a Reply

