Blackened Chicken, Quinoa and Crunchy Kale Chips

Last week I went a little Bondi Hipster ‘Life Organic’ (did you catch this this You Tube clip earlier this year? Hilair!). I picked up some very foreign quinoa and kale at a health food store on Gould Street. First lesson: to avoid judgemental shopkeeper stares, pronounce ‘quinoa’ as ‘keen-wah’.

I don’t think I’ll have much trouble selling you on the first recipe, Blackened Chicken with Quinoa. Quinoa is essentially a gluten free alternative to cous cous, and it has a lovely nutty flavour. The recipe is low on carbs and calories but is a winner when it comes to taste. You’ll have to stick with me though for Kale Chips…

Blackened Chicken with Quinoa

(Recipe thanks to the talented Stefanie at Sarcastic Cooking)

2 chicken breasts

2 cups chicken stock

1 cup quinoa

1 lime, zest and juice

1/2 teaspoon of: paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin

Salt and pepper, olive oil

Optional – coriander

Here’s what you need to do:

1. Combine the paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin, salt and pepper together in a bowl, then season both sides of the chicken breasts.

Season the chicken breasts

2. Add the chicken stock and quinoa to a saucepan and bring to a simmer over a medium heat. Once it starts to bubble, reduce the heat to low and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes with the lid on, until the quinoa absorbs all of the stock.

2. Heat two teaspoons of oil to a non-stick skillet or large pan with a lid. (I’d be a bad blogger if I didn’t tell you that i’m still trying to get the marks off my saucepan!)

3. Add chicken breasts to the pan and cook for seven minutes each side, with the lid on.

4. Once chicken has cooked, remove from pan and let rest for seven minutes.

5. Add to the quinoa: lime zest, juice, salt, pepper and coriander

Add lime zest, juice, salt and pepper to quinoa

6. Optional – mix the flesh of an avocdo with two tablespoons of Greek yoghurt to cool this dish down.

Blackened Chicken with Quinoa and Avocado Cream

Crunchy Kale Chips

Don’t worry reader, I’m just as confused as you are

I know, I know. Green vegetables do not a crunchy chip make! I noticed Kale Chips on Pinterest some time ago, however it wasn’t until Lorraine at Not Quite Nigella (the first blog I ever followed) posted about Kale Chips that I decided to give it a try.

In addition to your bunch of kale, you’ll also need 2 tablespoons of olive oil and some sea salt, but I’m sure you’ve got that at home already.

Here’s what you need to do:

1. Preheat oven to 135 degrees.

2. Remove the leaves from the stem, rinse and pat dry.

3. Place the kale on large baking trays lined with baking paper. It’s really important not to overcrowd the kale, or otherwise it will be a little soggy.

4. Drizzle olive oil onto kale and season with salt.

5. Pop the baking trays in the oven for 30 minutes, turning once at around the 10 minute mark.

I’m going to have to include a Pinterest photo here, as I took pics using Instagram, and you all know what happened to my phone last weekend 😦

Kale Chips!

I’m still more than a little baffled by just how good these turned out. They’re perfect for when you are craving something crunchy and salty.

Now if only I could train my brain that fruit is a true substitute for chocolate…

Are there any food substitutes that you can’t live without?

Leave a Reply

