400 Calorie Series: Chilli Chicken and Chickpea Salad

My last healthy post seems a long time ago – long before Chorizo Pasta and Vanilla Bean Cupcakes! I’ve made a solemn promise to the bathroom scales that I’ll be better this week, and I’m happy to share with you the perfect midweek meal: four quick steps, pan to plate in 15 minutes, and for the purpose of this exercise, 400 calories per serve.

For four serves, you will need: 

4 chicken breast fillets

Nando’s Piri Piri Sauce (if you have it, or Piri Piri seasoning)

2T Greek or natural yoghurt

1/2 lemon, squeezed

400g can chickpeas (you may wish to add another can. I only used one to keep the calorie count down)

50g currants (again, you may wish to use more)

Parsley, mint, salt, pepper and cooking spray

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

Lather the chicken in Piri Piri sauce. If you’re more organised than me, you might think to do this in the morning, however even without the extra marinading time, my chicken turned out just fine. Spray a large frying pan with cooking spray and cook the chicken through (allow for 5 minutes each side)

A generous serving of Piri Piri sauce..

While the chicken is cooking away, mix up lemon juice and yoghurt in a bowl. I added in some lemon pepper seasoning mix, only because I have a little obsession with it and it’s forever in my cupboard.

a little yoghurt with lemon (and some seasoning)

In a large bowl, add drained chickpeas, torn up parsley and mint, currants and the yoghurt dressing.

Pop the chickpea salad into serving bowls and top with big pieces of chicken.

Chilli Chicken with Chickpeas

Too easy, as Adam likes to say (he’s found it to be both a critical and hilarious Australian phrase).

I’m always on the lookout for low-cal, easy dinners, especially now I’ve kissed my 9am – 5pm working hours goodbye and made big promises to my scales, so I’d appreciate any suggestions you have for me.

Hope you have a great week!

J xx

3 thoughts on “400 Calorie Series: Chilli Chicken and Chickpea Salad

    • Hi Claire! Thanks for stopping by. I just checked out your blog, and I will have to try out some of your healthy recipes!

      Piri Piri tends to be made with chilli, garlic and lemon (a winning combination in my eyes!). I’ve tracked down a recipe which you could try out:

      Piri Piri Sauce
      10 – 12 birdseye chillies, chopped finely (medium size, medium heat)
      Pinch salt
      Juice of ½ lemon
      100mls olive oil
      2 tbsp garlic powder (not crushed garlic as the mixture will be too runny)

      There’s a video right here: http://www.sbs.com.au/food/recipe/19/Piri_piri_sauce

      Hope this helps! If you do make your own sauce, let me know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

