Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

Confession time. Despite my healthy-eating posts last week, I also did something naughty. I started a brand new job on Monday and I had mentioned in my “5 minutes with Jess” interview on my first day that I enjoyed baking.

So to make some new friends on Friday, I decided to indulge in a little baking bribery. Who could walk past a desk that’s laden with delicious cupcakes? I wanted to make something that tasted amazing, yet still looked effortless, like, “I just throw these amazing recipes together all the time”. The key? Butter, sugar, vanilla, and Nigella Lawson.

I adapted the domestic goddess’ Cupcake recipe, and which actually was incredibly effortless to make. As for tasting amazing… my non-sweet-toothed boyfriend had two cupcakes when he returned home from football training and then said, “these are the best cupcakes I’ve ever had” which really floored me, until he ended his sentence with “today”.

You can’t go wrong with Nigella Lawson

Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

125g self-raising flour

125g caster sugar

125g unsalted butter (if you have time, leave this out of the fridge so it softens)

2 eggs

1tsp vanilla bean paste or vanilla extract

2TSP milk

Buttercream Icing

150g unsalted butter

2 cups icing mixture

1TSP milk

Here’s what to do:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and pop some pretty cases in a muffin tin.

Mix flour, sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla bean paste/extract and milk in a food processor until smooth

Thank you mum, for my food processor…

Place mixture into prepared muffin cases and bake for 15 – 20 minutes in the oven, or until the cupcakes are golden on top. You’ll need to let the cupcakes cool before icing them (I’m not always the most patient of people, however I know from experience how quickly buttercream icing will melt all over your cakes if they’re still warm!)

Cupcakes in chill-out mode

For the buttercream icing, whip the butter until it starts to turn a bit lighter. Gradually then add in the icing sugar and some of the milk. You may wish to add a little more milk – it depends what kind of consistency you prefer.

Ice the cakes, and hide from your boyfriend/girlfriend/flatmate where necessary.

I think I made some work friends.

My lovely blog friends, I’d love to know if you bake-bribe too?

One thought on “Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

