Love: Playlist September 2012

Music has always been amongst my biggest loves. I love that music can transport you back to a certain place or time in your life. I love that a good playlist can make the world of difference to a long run. I love having friends over and playing DJ.

And I’ve always loved sharing music – from mixed tapes to iTunes playlists. So, my friends, here are some of my favourite tracks at the moment. I have fairly eclectic taste, so hopefully you’ll find something you love.

**A late addition***

Florence Welch & Calvin Harris. What’s not to love:

Something upbeat & catchy 

Of Monsters and Men – Little Talks. This song accompanied us through France last month. I love all the assorted instruments and the catchy chorus:

The Griswolds – Heart of a Lion. Already on the running playlist. Try to keep the smile off your face:

Little Dragon – Sunshine. I can’t hear Little Dragon without thinking of my best friend Sam, who once had her very own little dragon (imaginary friend). That aside, I cannot get enough of this song:

Icona Pop – I Love It. Full of buzzy energy, you’ll love or hate this :

Grimes – Oblivion. Super catchy – love the film clip, I totally relate to having earphones in and being totally oblivious to everything going on around you!

Aston Shuffle – Can’t Stop Now. Are the Aston Shuffle the coolest thing to ever come out of Canberra? This track has summer written all over it:

Some awesome indie 

Alt-J – Breezeblocks. Love at first listen:

Bloc Party – Octopus. Admittedly this was a slow burner for me, but considering my 2005 BP obsession, I’ll always come around:

Something Chilled

The XX – Angels. The xx’s 2nd album, Coexist, is out on Friday:

Alpine – Gasoline. The Purple Sneakers site likened this song to fairies sighing. See if you agree:

Purity Ring – Fineshrine. I debated about whether or not to include this one on the list, due to its somewhat disturbing lyrics, but I’ll let you listen for yourself:

Little Scout – Go Quietly. Unearthed by Triple J last year, this is a nice track by Brisbane band Little Scout

Asta – My Heart is on Fire. Asta won Triple J’s Unearthed High competition in August – still at school and buckets of talent:

Battleships – Your Words. Sydney band Battleship’s haunting ‘In Retrospect’ was released earlier this year, and this is another great track

Frank Ocean – Lost. Something very, very funky (do people still use that word?):

 

What’s on your playlist this month?

Leave a Reply

