400 Calorie Dinners – Baked Chicken with Prosciutto, Mushrooms and Zucchini

French women don’t get fat. I can vouch for this adage after my recent French holiday. All I will say on the matter is that French women clearly do not feast as I did whilst I was visiting their lovely country. Nor do they eat naughty Tim Tam brownies.

I definitely lugged some excess baggage past customs last week, and it’s not the kind that can be dumped in the dirty clothes basket, or shoved away with your spring/summer clothes.

If, like me, you’re all too conscious of the fact that summer is just around the corner, you will be happy to know that over the next few weeks I’ve challenged myself to find recipes worthy of posting, that weigh in at less than 400 calories per serve.

As well as yummy recipes, these are two great apps to download if you’re monitoring your food and exercise:

The My Fitness Pal website and app lets you track your calorie intake and exercise.

Nike+ Running App – maps and records your runs, you can even elect to be ‘cheered’ along the way!

For those of you more interested in the sweeter things in life, don’t worry. I’ve just started a new job and have a whole new team to bake for! Life is all about balance, am I right?

Speaking of my new job, it’s day three. As I dazedly wandered out of work and into Town Hall Woolworths at 7pm tonight (which was an experience in itself), I couldn’t help but wonder what I had signed myself up for! My French holiday certainly seems a LONG time ago. Anyway, while today was challenging, tonight I made the easiest dinner in the world. All it needed was some of Guillaume Brahimi’s Paris Mash

Baked Chicken with Zucchini and Prosciutto

Serves 2, Time to dinner 16 minutes, Calorie count 378

What you’ll need

2 chicken breasts (calorie count based on  400g of chicken)

4 slices prosciutto

1 large zucchini

200g button mushrooms

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 teaspoon seeded mustard

1/2 lemon, 1/2 lime

Olive oil, chili flakes, salt and pepper

7 Simple Steps to dinner

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

2. Heat 2 teaspoons of oil in a frying pan. Season chicken with salt, pepper and chili flakes

The perfect seasoning ingredients

3. Cook the chicken for 3 minutes on each side, then transfer to the oven and bake for 10 minutes

4. Add prosciutto to oven for the last 5 minutes of cooking time, so it gets nice and crispy.

5. Wipe out frypan and add a teeny bit more oil or cooking spray, before adding in zucchini, mushrooms and garlic. Cook for 3 minutes, or until tender.

6. Mix lemon and lime juice with seeded mustard to make a dressing

7. After chicken is cooked, slice and serve with mushrooms, zucchini, prosciutto and the dressing.

Chicken, Zucchini and Prosciutto

Baked chicken with prosciutto, mushrooms and zucchini

I adapted this recipe from realsimple.com, and also borrowed their photo, as at 8.30pm there wasn’t much time for photography in this apartment!

Leave a Reply

