Wicked Tim Tam Brownies

Since May, I’ve been working in an open plan office. There’s one thing that has really affected my productivity during this time, and it’s not people stopping by to pick up their printing or having colleagues close by to chat to throughout the day. The culprit is in fact the innocuous Tim Tam.

Our office has a collective obsession with Australia’s favourite biscuit, and any diet willpower that has been mustered up over the weekend falls in a heap on Monday morning when Tim Tams, as if by genie magic, materialise for the 10am tea break. We spend a disproportionate amount of time eating and then replacing packet after packet of Tim Tams.

Today is sadly my last day with this lovely team, so last night I baked a goodbye treat. How do you improve on the perfection that is a Tim Tam? You make Tim Tam Brownies. I’ve adapted this recipe from the Arnotts website (don’t even ask me what I was doing there, I’m never, ever allowed to return).

To make these, you’ll need some very nutritional ingredients:

Eggs, tim tams, chocolate, sugar, flour, butter

This recipe requires all the good stuff..

2 packets Tim Tams (I couldn’t go past the classic Tim Tams, but any flavour would work)

200g milk chocolate

180g butter

200g (1 ¼ C) brown sugar

110g (3/4 C plain flour)

3 eggs

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Grease and line a 16cm x 24cm baking tin with baking paper
  3. Roughly chop the butter and chocolate
  4. Half-fill a saucepan with water and bring to a simmer
  5. Place chocolate and butter into a heatproof bowl and simmer over saucepan until melted – allow to cool slightly
  6. In a  separate bowl, whisk together eggs and brown sugar
  7. Stir together the chocolate mixture, egg mixture and add in the flour. Whisk until smooth.
  8. Here’s where the Tim Tams come in – you’re going to end up with three layers in your lamington tin. The bottom layer will be approximately 1 cup of the chocolate mixture – ensure it covers the base of your baking tin.
  9. The second layer is full of Tim Tam goodness. Line them up neatly and pour the remaining chocolate mixture over the top.

Laying the chocolate foundation

Neatly line up the Tim Tams

Yes, the recipe DOES need more chocolate

Pop in the oven and bake for 30 minutes. Don’t panic if the middle seems slightly soft after this time, it will harden up as it cools, so keep them in the tin and let them cool completely before cutting into Tim-Tam sized slices.

Can I call these epic?

One last gratuitous shot. I need to go to work!

Note: Those of you with eagle eyes will notice that I used a square baking tin. In my jetlag-fug, I couldn’t find my rectangular lamington tin, and Adam was asleep (also jetlagged) so I didn’t want to go turning my cupboards inside out!

While the brownies still turned out OK in the square tin, I highly recommend a rectangular tin. This way, you can layer the Tim Tams without having to chop the biscuits to fill gaps – it was so much easier to cut this brownie through the defined Tim Tam layer.

7 thoughts on “Wicked Tim Tam Brownies

Leave a Reply

